First Time Use & Troubleshooting

1. Privacy Levels Preventing Data Combination Error

Error Message: "References other queries or steps, so it may not directly access a data source. Please rebuild this data combination."

First-time user will receive this error upon clicking ‘refresh’ 🔃. This is due to the privacy setting on your Excel.

image.png

Troubleshooting Steps

To resolve it, go to Data → Get Data → Query Options → Privacy → Select “Always Ignore Privacy Level Settings”.

image.png


2. Macros Disabled by Admin Settings

Error Message: "Macros in this document have been disabled by your enterprise administrator for security reasons."

This error message will appear when xlsm Macro files are downloaded from the Internet (Google Drive, OneDrive, Notion, WhatsApp etc)

image.png


Troubleshooting Steps - Option 1: Quick Hack

Move the excel file to your S Drive (S:\YOURNAME)

Move it back to your local drive (desktop / D:drive etc).

It should work

Troubleshooting Steps - Option 2: Quick Fix for Individual User

To File → Options → Trust Center → Trust Center Settings → Trusted Locations, then add the folder where your file resides.

image.png

Troubleshooting Steps - Option 3: Long Term Fix for all Shared Users (within a school)

Email the file to your Desktop Engineer (DE), who will have the requisite admin rights to unblock the file for you.

You can then use it on your desktop, or share it freely via email or shared drive.

image.png

<aside> ✉️

If you have further troubleshooting issues, do reach out to me via my CES email.

</aside>